“Send in the clowns”

Week three of Zomtober and my “Zombie Vixens” problem is now sorted, I got my money back! After five weeks of waiting, a lack of response etc.. Arcane Miniatures have now refunded my payment, thank you very much, I won’t be ordering from them again in this lifetime! This does however pose me a bit of a problem however as I have now completely exhausted my supply of Zombies. I might have something suitable for a survivor for next week’s posting but to be honest my appetite for “Zom’s” is a little lacking now, hopefully it might pick up over the next couple of days.

Anyway my clown is now finished, working up from a black base coat,zomtober (clown 1) it took several coats of both the yellow and orange paints I’d decided to use on his costume to get a decent coverage (looking back white might have been a better undercoat choice), the highlights on these two separate sides were then added in orange mixed with a little white on the one side and lemon yellow on the other. After this I could add his flesh in a mix of dark grey and stone green. Then his cuffs and “pompoms” were painted coffee and cream and the rest of his hat and his shoes zomtober (clown 2)were added in porcelain blue highlighted with pale blue. It was at this point I thought his costume was a little plain so I added dots of various sizes to the yellow side in plum and shamrock green. Then his face was painted white before I added his nose in bright red and his eyes and mouth in black and white. His intestines were undercoated royal zomtober (clown 3)purple then while I was painting in his hair with lupin paint I added a couple of highlights to his “hanging guts” with this also, his hair was then highlighted in lavender. Then it was just a case of slapping the bright red “gore” about a bit, slavering him in “Quickshade” and painting up his base before a coat of matt varnish finished him off. I think he turned out alright, sorry I haven’t got more done this week, till next week….

Cheers Roger.

This entry was posted in 28mm fantasy, fantasy, Uncategorized, Zombies, Zomtober and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to “Send in the clowns”

  1. Carrion Crow says:

    Now that is disturbingly brilliant, Roger! A superb conversion, followed by a stunning paint job. I’ve seen the Blob converted into a sumo, a woman and now a zombie clown. Versatile chunk of plastic, might have to get another couple…

  2. That’s a fantastic paint-job, Roger, on an incredibly well-sculpted zed-clown. Certainly a ‘Fattie’ that would grace any “Zombicide” table and buckets of gore too – just to keep the gore-brothers Bryan and Bob happy 😉 You’re not the only one to find “Arcane Miniatures” something of a delivery enigma I’m afraid. Though they sent me the “Knight Models” I ordered from them at the end of last year very promptly. Currently I’d recommend “Dark Sphere” as an alternative. Great stuff and its a pleasure to see your postings starting to attract the numerous comments they so richly deserve.

  3. Roger Webb says:

    Thanks Simon, glad you like him, Arcane was a bit of a disappointment I have to say as it “b*ggered” up my plans for Zomtober completely, ah well you live and learn.

    Cheers Roger.

  4. That’s a truly grisly, but wonderfully painted clown!

    • Roger Webb says:

      Very many thanks sir, he is available for children’s parties (as long as you don’t like the children of course!).

      Cheers Roger.

  5. Bob Kinnear says:

    Really nice zombie clown dude! The evil offspring of Gacey and the clown from Spawn. Some great gory touches too.

  6. Suitably disturbing. Clowns are creepy, but that one tops it.

  7. Roger Webb says:

    Many thanks D&B, I must admit I think he turned out better than I had expected in the end.

    Cheers Roger.

  8. Pingback: “You Ignorant Disgusting Blob!” | Carrion Crow's Buffet

  9. Pingback: “Blax the Kleric’s, top ten of 2015” | Rantings from under the Wargames table

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.