“Rats I Need To Write an Update”

Hello all, well as the title says I’m very late to the party this year as here we are now into the fourth month of the year and only one post from me, and that one I’d really rather of not had to post.

But anyway I thought I’d better let you all know what I’ve been up to while all of you have been happily painting miniatures and posting on your blogs? Well first off I have to apologise for my absence there have been a few reasons for this, firstly work has been a pain in the arse, as they keep changing my shift pattern, but I won’t go into that. Secondly most Saturday mornings have been spent down at the “Model boat club lake”, sadly most of the time I haven’t actually been sailing a boat (actually I’ve only sailed twice this year so far!), but we have been doing a fair bit of ground work around the lake, and have now put a fence up too, it’s starting to come together and will look the business by the time we are finished, but it has been a lot of work. Another time grabber also associated with the boat club is the fact that I have now volunteered to take over the role of “Merchandising officer” (this is a posh way of saying I order the (polo style) T-shirts etc. for the club), sounds simple, but as no one had done this role for many years I had to start from scratch and find a company to do them, source the image for embroidering , take orders, collect the shirts and distribute them along with doing the accounts, all this because as my wife said “I’ll do anything for a club T-shirt!!”. I have now expanded the “merch” so we also do….Hoodies, sweatshirts, baseball caps, woolly “beanie” hats, and coats (Gillette style body warmers coming soon!). However the last and probably biggest block on my hobby time at the moment is sadly our dog “Holly” she is now fifteen and for the last couple of years has been requiring more and more attention, to the point now that we can’t really leave her alone at all as she needs to be reassured and constantly watched in case she has to go out to the toilet, avoiding an “accident”. We love her to bits, but feel a bit like live in carers for her these days. Still enough excuses, I’m here now so what have I been doing since I last posted.

Well not a lot to be honest, I have added to the ”fleet” a little, last time I mentioned my boats I had four, two working and two very much works in progress (or not as the case may be), well I’m now up to six (though there are still only two working 🤨. A few months back we spent a couple of weeks clearing all the Boat clubs stuff out of one room by the lake and putting it into a new slightly bigger room. Well while doing this on the first Saturday, we found a few “hulls” and part built boats and were asked if anyone wanted any of these, well I succumbed and bought this one ☝🏼, thought lord knows why! It’s horrible to be honest, though it was only £5.00, at some point I think I’ll turn it into a “pond yacht”, though probably with a small motor and working rudder. Then a couple of weeks later this tug 👉🏼 was unearthed under a pile of plywood sheets, as I carried it across to the new room someone asked “who’s is that?”. “Well it looks like it’s Rogers now” came the reply from Mark the club secretary, despite me copiously disclaiming that I didn’t want any more boats,  suffice to say that a couple of days and £10.00 later it was here sitting in my garage. This has been the thing I’ve spent the most time tinkering with and will probably form the subject of my next posting, so something to look forward to there then (or not).

I have painted a few figures as well over the last couple of months, not for myself, but for my youngest who has been taking part in a couple of “Blood Bowl” tournaments at our local “FLGS”, he ordered this “Skaven” team off of the internet, and when it finally arrived  (a couple of months and a few Emails later), I agreed to paint them up for him, He actually won the first league they ran, and is currently leading the second (He’s a much better gamer than his dad!!). He has his eye on a “Khemri” team for his birthday next month 🙄, so the brushes will be out again for that no doubt!

Lastly (and I absolutely blame this one on Matt, I have started collecting a few “Hotwheels” die-cast cars, as I speak I’m only getting Corvettes and Ford GT and GT40s, but this is very addictive so…..

Anyway that will do for now, at least you know I’m still about, will I return to painting figures for myself? Well I’d better as I still have tons of the blooming things about unpainted, and as they say you never forget your first love..

Till next time, cheers Roger.

This entry was posted in 28mm fantasy, fantasy, RC Boats and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to “Rats I Need To Write an Update”

  1. Dave Stone says:

    Great to see a post from you Roger, had a funny feeling there may be some new boats in here, and sure was, but have to agree that green boat is an ugly vessel as it stands, but I’m sure it will look great once you’ve finished it. Sorry to hear your dog needs full time care, but I bet you wouldn’t have it any other way.

    Great work on the Skaven, and sounds like your son is having a blast playing them as well, hopefully we will see a lot more posts as the year progresses, especially as we are rapidly approaching challenge season ! LOL

  2. Splendid to hear that you’ve managed to have the paintbrushes out at least a little bit, Roger – and that’s eighteen Ratmen Blood Bowl players I’d happily sort through for a Top Ten. LOL!! The best news though is that whilst it isn’t wargaming, you’re clearly enjoying your model boat hobby – and that’s the really important thing tbh.

    I too like to scour the weekend toy car fairs for Hot Wheels and such like. But that’s so I can add guns and armour plating to them. LOL!! Indeed, I’ve a Dark Knight to post up soon now I’m back over on blogger.

    You take good care of yourself and enjoy your boats 🙂

    • Thanks Simon, first off so glad you are back on Blogger, as I’ve been trying to keep up with your blog on my phone (though couldn’t comment sorry), and for some reason your old site would expand the pictures up and up so if I wasn’t super quick I’d miss the text under them and not be able to click on the post itself. Haven’t had that issue since (or before) you gone back on blogger.

      I am enjoying the boats at the moment, though I have bought a couple of figures (your fault mate!) that I would like to get painted at some point this year.

      Haven’t scoured any of the toy fairs yet (don’t tempt me!) though have got a couple off of Ebay, the brain bender at the moment is do I take them out of the packets or not???? (I want to but will I regret it afterwards? 🤔).

      Cheers Roger.

  3. Thanks Dave, yep I keep trying to not buy more boats but the prices are just soo good, and FOMO sets in! 😉

    My son as I said is a much better gamer than me (as attested to by how often he beets me! To be honest he does have a advantage over the other people in his league as he has been playing the PC version of BB for a while and has 2000 hours on the old edition and about 400 hours game time on the new edition! and it’s basically the same as the table top version! 😀

    I know, it’s nearly “challenge season” 😲 I would like to take part in my three fave’s “Monster Mayhem”, Forgotten Heroes” and “Season of Scenery”. Just not sure if I’m going to get the time at present.

    Cheers Roger.

  4. Good to catch up with your news, Roger! :-) I’m certain Holly couldn’t be in better hands than with you! Our dogs are now 11 and 14 and our routine revolves around Midge’s heart medication throughout the day but, as you know, they are worth it!

    Can’t fault playing around with boats and I like that tug! I’ve actually got my finger out and painted some much smaller scale ships for a change recently! Otherwise I’ve just been painting crap and blogging about it, so you haven’t missed much!

    Nice work on the Blood Bowl team! 🙂

    • Thanks John, is she worth it……🤔 (just kidding yes she is, he’s my baby!)

      Need to troll around the blogs and see what I’ve been missing to be honest, you boats are always lovely. The Tug is nice but does ned a fair bit of work, updating the mechanicals and such, what is a bonus though it’s actually 30mm scale, so a crew is a given! I’ve started on a new wheelhouse already but more on that next time.

      Cheers Roger.

      • The scale of the tug’s handy – probably means you’ll be the only person with boat with a decent crew on it! I’ve been having a Maritime March, painting 1:600th/700th ships for a change and the last of the batch of 10 has literally just been finished so I’m hoping to get a post up later this week!

  5. Guru PIG says:

    Great to hear from you!

  6. Alex says:

    Nice Skaven team mate & glad all is well

  7. angrypiper says:

    Hope you’ll join us for Monster May(hem), Roger (after all, you’re to blame for the name); but I fully understand real life getting in the way of hobby time. It’s been the same for me, truth be told.

    • Hi Keith, sorry for the late reply, truth be told I’ve been hanging back from replying in the hope that I would be able to say yes to taking part in “MM” this year as it’s probably my joint favourite challenge month of the year. However it does look very much like I’m going to have too much on to devote even a modicum of the time this really deservers. Therefore I’m going to have to gracefully decline this year, but I do wish all the people who do take part the very best of luck and I will be keeping an eye out (though probably on my phone only) on all the entries.

      Cheers Roger.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.