“Elsa, is that you?”

Inspiration for this week’s posting has to go to Mr. Bryan Scott, or “Vampifan” as he is felsabetter known around these parts. A little while ago he ran a series of rather excellent battle reports for the game “Zombicide”, and one of the survivor characters made quite the impression on me, a sexy leather clad vixen by the name of “Elsa”. Now this flame haired ex-cat burglar is only available as part of the “Toxic city mall” expansion to the game, so it looked like I was going to be out of luck with getting my own Elsa, until that is inspiration struck and I remembered there was a cat-suit wearing lady amongst the figures I bought from “Copplestone Castings” back at Salute this year. Further investigation turned up the lady in question amongst pack FW10 “Babes with guns”. Now though not quite as well developed as “Guillotine Games” version she would suit my purposes admirably, my one slight issue was with her ankles, in as much as she long trousers that elsa-unpaintwere over her boots, whereas Elsa has knee length boots over the top of her trousers. This was easily fixed by simply carving away the bottoms of her trouser legs and then adding some new boots tops in greenstuff. I also pushed her left arm in towards her body, simply because I thought it looked better that way. Anyway she was then glued onto a two pence piece and after her base was built up in “Tetrion” all purpose filler it was out for a coat of matt black.

Painting her was relatively simple too, as her costume is predominantly black anyway it was just a case of touching up any bits the undercoat hadn’t reached, before I added the metal finish on her gun, the zipper on her cat suit and the buckle on her belt in chainmail. Next I painted in her flesh this was first undercoated in European flesh then after adding her eyes and teeth I highlighted these areas with a mix of European flesh and pale flesh, lastly on this area I added her lips in dark red (I was going to use bright red, but I was worried it might look a bit too much like the blood I add around my zombies mouths). Hair was next on the agenda, so as she is a dangerous redhead, I dug out my chestnut paint, but to make it even more red than usual, I mixed in some bright red and a little orange before using this to undercoat the hair, a highlight of just orangeelsa-paint was then dry-brushed over this. This just left the highlights on her costume to add, so black was mixed with some dark grey and the resultant darker grey was used for these, I then realized that the original Elsa had a “beauty spot” on her left cheek, so out came the black again and this was added, then she was finally ready to be “quickshaded”.

Basing was then carried out as per-usual, and a quick “blow-over” with some satin varnish finished her off, (whoa there!!! I hear you cry, SATIN VARNISH! Not matt?), well no actually I decided that I really liked the shiny PVC look that Bryans Elsa had so rather than my usual matt varnish I decided to use the “Rust-oleum” stuff I bought a while back (and complained endlessly about), as this has more of a “glossy” finish to it. I’m rather pleased with my finished Elsa, she might not be quite as “voluptuous” as the original figure but she’ll do for me. Check out Bryan’s original “batrep” posting to see the real Elsa in action, over on his excellent blog…

https://vampifansworldoftheundead.blogspot.co.uk/2016/09/zombicide-scenario-m01-big-rubble-part-3.html

Till next week, Cheers Roger.

This entry was posted in 28mm sci-fi, sci-fi, Zombies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to “Elsa, is that you?”

  1. Aha, a nice potential “Top Ten” miniature if ever I saw one, Roger. What’s not to love about your inspiration behind the model (i.e. Bryan’s “Zombicide” BatReps!!), your top class green-stuff/conversion work, and an excellent paint-job which precisely mirrors that of Elsa’s gaming illustration. The only thing missing is a gloss varnish. But Satin is close enough in my books!!! 🙂

    • Roger Webb says:

      Ha Ha! I thought you might take a “shine” to her (sic). I wouldn’t have the nerve to call what I did to her boots as a conversion myself but thanks for the compliment.

      Trust me that’s as glossy as your gonna get around here mate!;-)

      Cheers Roger.

  2. Carrion Crow says:

    A very nice conversion, Roger. And as you know, i’m a big fan of wanting a specific figure – then making my own, so good job.

    • Roger Webb says:

      Thanks Jez, the original was wayyy out of my price range so this seemed the only way I was going to get an Elsa of my own, and yes we are all aware of your excellent replacement intuition.

      Cheers Roger.

  3. vampifan says:

    Sorry to take so long to reply to you, Roger, but Blogger’s been playing up by showing blogs I follow later than usual. Anyway, I’m here now and first I’m honoured you wanted to make your own Elsa after seeing her appear in one of my “Zombicide” batreps. Funnily enough, I do own the Copplestone Castings figures you have chosen for your Elsa and it’s certainly a good proxy.
    You’ve done a great job on her – converting and painting. She does remind me of the Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson) from the Marvel Avengers films, which believe me, is no bad thing. I think that is because you kept her cat suit satin instead of gloss. Still, it works. I hope we see her in a batrep of your own. Like you, I am very fond of Elsa!

    • Roger Webb says:

      Many thanks Bryan, you are of course most welcome, without your excellent batrep, I would probably have never come across Elsa. I see what you mean about the “Black widow” connection, a different belt buckle and probably slightly less cleavage on show and she would be a good stand in, and a lot nicer than the “Herocliker” version I have (from clobberin’ time I think, it’s an early one anyway).

      I would have been surprised if you hadn’t owned the Copplestone babes, I seem to remember one of them in amongst your “St Trinnians” figs (I’ve got her too). There should be a few more of Marks figures popping up as survivors during “Zomtober”.

      Oh and don’t you start on about Batreps, I get enough of that from Simon;-)

      Cheers Roger.

  4. Roger Webb says:

    I told you not to hold your breath! (I’m beginning to regret I said it now, at least you’d be quite).

    Really though I wouldn’t know where to start writing one, what do you do write it as you play the game or jot down notes then re-photo it, because I couldn’t see my opponents appreciating me taking photo’s every turn. It’s just a nightmare, and you lot make it look so easy and professional.

    Roger.

    • Well I photo it and take notes at the time, and then write it up later. I then tend to photoshop the piccies as I try and incorporate whats happening in the game with what they’re saying in the captions etc. What I never know is how long the BatRep will be, but as soon as I’m looking at beyond 6 turns I start thinking it’ll be a two-parter etc.

      • Roger Webb says:

        I will have a look at this, probably over Christmas (the next time I’m off), I think a solo game might be the way to start though.

        Thanks Roger.

      • vampifan says:

        Solo gaming works best as it gives you complete control over the game. You can play at your own pace and take all the time you need to make notes and take photos. Simon is right, it is hard to predict how long a game may last. That is usually in the lap of the dice gods.

  5. Roger Webb says:

    I can see I’m going to have to do this, aren’t I.

    Cheers Roger.

Leave a Reply

