“Auto Transform”

Ok end of the first week and I think “Slow” is the best word to describe progress so far, but I’m pleased to announce (Sooo very pleased, you wouldn’t believe!) that all the sanding and filing on “Black Scorpion’s” original figure is now complete, her right arm will need filing down at some point but I’ll worry about that as and when. I began by holding my electrical circular sander upside down between my knees and gently touching the back of her head and arm onto the spinning disk and removing as much of the hair as I dare (shame I couldn’t just use “Imac” or “Wax” but they sadly won’t cut it with white metal!), then it was out with the needle files and many “happy” hours of filing awayblack scorpion 5 the rest of the unwanted hair and surface detail, I used a sharp knife to carve away the bits where a file just wouldn’t reach, and then using a small piece of sand paper I smoothed out any obvious file marks. Lastly this week I took a pair of pliers and teased her left foot up at the back as I’ve got to add high heels to her boots at some point (in the film these disappear and reappear depending upon what she is doing, but as so did Wonder Woman’s in the old series I’ll let her off on this).

As you can see from the photograph “Aftershock” has also had a bit of Aftershock (2)a run in with the scalpel, this is because although the clothing on the original “Jean Grey” figure is pretty close her pose with hand to her temple wasn’t. I have an idea of what arm/arms (her right might have to go as well yet), but we’ll see about that later. I’ve also removed her belt buckle and the detail lines on the thighs of her costume. The blue-tack on her foot is just there to keep her upright until I get her mounted onto a tuppence (next job).

Lastly we come to the “Gangster’ Prankster”, and there’s really been very little progress on him at all. I’ve carved away the question markgangsta 2 on his chest and the flared backs of his gloves as these need to fit under the sleeves of his jacket. I’ve also removed his question mark walking stick, I plan to replace this with his “supersoaker” style water pistol full of acid (what a lovely chap he is!).

Finally I’m happy to report that I only got one metal splinter in my finger this week, that’s pretty good for me, I half expected at least one trip to casualty.

Anyway I should be on safer ground from this point on, so till next week Excelsior!!

Cheers Roger.

This entry was posted in 28mm sci-fi, Foprgotten Heroes, Superheroes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to “Auto Transform”

  1. Pingback: Auto Transform (Roger Webb) – forgottenheroessite

  2. Carrion Crow says:

    As you had quite a bit of metal to remove, I think you’ve done pretty well Roger. Looks like you’ve done the majority of the hard work = at least you’re using more of the figures than last time! Will you looking to get a suitably scaled “scorpionmobile” too?

    • Roger Webb says:

      Thanks Jez, This is the joy of using figures with lots of hair to make figures with a lot less, next time I try something easier like using “Blob” to make “Sue Storm”!!

      I can see that my conversion of Ram Man is going to haunt me for a while yet.

      I actually think the Scorpion Mobile from the movies is awful, if I was going to try and make one I’d probably try and do the one in the series, but then my Black Scorpion would be wrong…oh it’s just too complicated, dam my OCD.

      Cheers Roger.

  3. Great start Roger, and you’ve clearly done a tremendous amount of work on these minis already. I’m very interested to see how Jean grey’s model turns out, especially as you have to now fashion an arm from somewhere. Good luck 😉

    • Roger Webb says:

      Thanks Simon, sadly it doesn’t look like much has been done, still I hope I can get the greenstuff out tomorrow, so there should (hopefully) be more to show by the weekend.

      It’s the stack soles on her boots that I’m more concerned about at the moment, to be honest.

      Cheers Roger.

  4. Certainly more progress than has been made over here, cracking job Roger.

    • Roger Webb says:

      Thanks Michael, I’ve done a little bit more to them this morning (a very little bit I hasten to add), still we still have most of the month left eh’ but will we be any further by the end of the month, now that is the question..

      Cheers Roger.

  5. vampifan says:

    You’re off to a good start, Roger. I’m very impressed with what you’ve done with Black Scorpion. That was a LOT of hair that needed removing! Keep up the good work. I’ve now added your blog to my list of favourites and I’ve just posted my Forgotten Heroes introduction.

  6. Roger Webb says:

    Many thanks Bryan, yes it was a LOT of hair, I’ll admit I haven’t got as much done this week as I’d hoped, so will probably post on Sunday as I hope to have another go at them tomorrow.

    Saw your post, looing good choice wise, look forward to seeing the lovely ladies finished. Have posted it up on the FH page as well.

    I do follow your blog but notice I haven’t added you to my blogroll, will sort that out next time I go into WordPress.

    Cheers Roger.

Leave a Reply

