“Zomtober, failure to launch”

As this is the first year I have taken part in Zomtober, this posting was going to be my statement of intent where I listed the figures I would paint over the coming month, as you can probably already tell there has been a bit of a “cock up” on the old Zombie front, in as much as the figures I ordered (two weeks ago now) have yet to arrive despite them being listed as in stock and coming from a UK supplier, a pretty poor show if you ask me, but I’m not going to be pointing fingers just yet, so don’t ask.

I have therefore been forced to make alternative plans at least for the time being, so it was a root about for some Zom’s to step into the breach, now I have stated before that Zombies are not an area I really zomtober 1had a lot to do with in the past though I have painted up a few this year that were formally my sons, and it was in amongst his stuff that I “dug up” (pardon the pun!) two more of “Mantic Games”, “Kings of War” Zombies and though this rather inauspicious start is not what I was hoping for it does at least get me underway, and hopefully I should have these chaps painted by the Sunday deadline.

Now alongside this project I will also be preparing for next month’s challenge Mo’vember (it’s all go you know!) where myself and a couple of other bloggers have to paint at least one figure with facial hair each week, and adding to this we have also decided to make at least some of the figures members of a “Frostgrave” warband that must also be completed by the end of the month, not a particularly arduous task, but all in the spirit of good fun, there is still time for you to join in (the more the merrier!!) just let me know you’re interested and we’ll link in to your blog when we get underway. Anyway “plug” over as I said I hope to complete preparations on my seven figure strong warband this unidentifide figsmonth (I’m up to three so far), and have another conversion in the works, but for my final three figures I have found the perfect chaps already in my collection, the down side to this is that they are already painted and I have no idea who made them so I can buy more. So I’m asking you if you can help me identify these chaps, they are on cast bases not “Slotta’s” and I think I picked them up from “Dave Thomas” at a show years ago (please ignore the shields as they are from Irregular miniatures), any help is most appreciated.

So till Sunday, sweet dreams, Roger.

This entry was posted in 28mm fantasy, fantasy, Uncategorized, Zombies, Zomtober and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Zomtober, failure to launch”

  1. Carrion Crow says:

    Whilst my proposed warband for next month’s challenge is only five strong, as only two have the requisite facial hair, I too will be painting seven figures. I have several possible options for my “extras”, but haven’t yet decided which ones to choose. Decisions, decisions…
    Can’t help with your troops, I’m afraid. Not my area of expertise.

  2. Roger Webb says:

    Thanks Jez, the TMP were able to point me in the right direction, they are Foundry figs, each one from a different £12.00 pack sadly, so might have to have a re-think.

    Cheers Roger.

  3. Carrion Crow says:

    I was going to suggest you repaint them, but realised that’s almost heresy. However, whilst having a browse on the Web, I had a thought – Heroscape Tarn Vikings with Syvarris as missile support? Suitably repainted, they could work, as they’re not bad sculpts. I think I might have a spare set somewhere, should you need it…

  4. Roger Webb says:

    Cheers Jez, sorry for the late reply, yesterday was hectic! I managed to find a guy on ebay who was selling individual “Foundry” Vikings (a £4.00 each sadly) but though I couldn’t get the three figures about I have got three that will do the job, so I hope I’m sorted now. thanks for the offer anyway. Oh and yes that would have been heresy!!

    Cheers Roger.

Leave a Reply

