“Zom-june-ber”

OK so there’s no such thing as “Zom-June-ber” but as I didn’t think you dear reader would appreciate yet another Dystopian wars post (you must be getting a bit sick of them by now) I thought I’d do something a bit different this week. As I seem to be hitting my head against a brick wall trying to get Matty (my youngest) to let me paint some of his “Zombicide” figures, I decided to dig out some of the myles's zombie horsZombies Myles has had hanging about from his “Kings of War” box set by Mantic games for a few years now. These were originally sprayed black and mounted on pennies so he could paint them up a while ago, but as that doesn’t look like it’s going to happen anytime soon (we’ll never now as I’ve done them), my first job was to re-base them onto my venerable two pence pieces (doubling their value immediately!) before filling in around the gaps between plastic base and coin with a bit of “Tetrion” and touching up any missed bits on the black undercoating of the figures. Then the painting “proper” could begin.

I decided to treat this as a bit of an experiment as far as different colour schemes for “zombie” flesh went, so I decided to just pull out five of the figures and then assembled some “zombie’ish” colours, these were….

Pale flesh, Stone green, Coffee, Khaki, and I also added Dark Grey into the mix.

So contestant number one is from Eastbourne and likes windsurfing, long walks, eating human flesh and would like world peace….sorry, zom1paintanyway all the figures had any holes in their flesh painted in dark red (though I decided afterwards it would have been easier to have added these in after the flesh went on rather than paint around the holes, but hey you live and learn), number one was done in my usual colours of pale flesh and stone green, these were painted straight on out of the pots and mixed on the figure itself, as I find it easier to get a blotchy mottled look to the finished effect this way. His ragged “pants?” were done in dark grey highlighted with light grey.

Contestant number two hails from York (right sorry I’ll stop that now!)zom2paint and was painted in coffee with a little Khaki mixed in, again the mixing was done directly on the figure, and his pants were added in royal blue highlighted with light blue.

zom3paintContestant number three was done in pale flesh with a little bit of dark grey added (it really was a small amount). His pants were painted the same as above.

Number four was painted in a combination of pale flesh, stone green and khaki, the stone green and khaki were zom4paintmixed together on a “Pringles” lid (I often use these as pallets), and then the pale flesh was added while it was on the figure itself, his ragged shirt was added in coffee highlighted with cream and his pants were again royal blue and light blue.

With number I five took what was left of the stone green, khaki mix and added some dark grey to it on the figure, his zom5paintpants were painted German field blue that was then highlighted with deep bronze green. The hands two of the figures are snacking on were painted in European flesh with the stumps painted dark red. All the figures them had bright red added to their “gory” bits, and this was also dry-brushed over their hands, around their mouths and on their clothing. The insides of the mouths and the eye sockets were dotted in with matt black before a cream dot was added to the eyes and the odd bit of exposed bone/tooth.

All the figures were then given a coat of Quickshade strong tone, before having their bases painted up in my usual way of chocolate brown, dry-brushed with khaki and coffee, before having areas picked out in scenic green that were then flocked with autumn mix hairy grass. I wasn’t sure whether to do the bases differently with a more “urban” finish to them but decided that doing them in my standard take thatcolours would mean they would match in with more of my other figures, hopefully increasing the number of different game genre’s they can be incorporated into in the future. Finally they were given a spray coat of “Humbrol” matt varnish. I think each the different tones have something going for them and help to break up the monotony of a large Zombie horde (though five is hardly a horde!), I’ve quite enjoyed this little foray into the undead, strangely Zombies are not something I’ve ever really painted much of, but as we now have “Zomicide” I think I might be adding to these chaps in the future, I might even give the proper “Zomtober” a bash this year.

Sleep tight dear reader, sweet dreams…..Roger.

This entry was posted in 28mm fantasy, Zombies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “Zom-june-ber”

  1. Wonderful stuff Roger, absolutely wonderful. They look great and will grace any tabletop. They all look suitably green and gory, with some very dynamic and misshapen poses to boot 🙂

  2. Roger Webb says:

    Thanks Simon, I’m getting into Zom’s at the moment, it’s Phalanx our local show next weekend, and though I’m not sure if we’ll go yet, if we do I might look at picking up some more undead or survivors from someone there.

    • Oh I haven’t been to that show in years – is that still held at St.Helens? Having recently received and started reviewing those old “Skull The Slayer” comics I’m trying to find a suitable proxy for him and his fellow survivors… I was hoping “Hasslefree” would have something but no joy yet, and yes I know that’s another project away from my “Guild Ball” 😉

  3. Roger Webb says:

    Ha ha! yes it is still held at St Helens, funny you should say about slipping off onto new projects, I’ve recently been watching all the “He-man” clips on Robot Chicken via “Youtube” and now I really fancy doing some “Eternia” based games, so I’m on the look out for some conversion fodder to make , Skeletor, He-man, Teela, Evil-Lynn, Man at arms, Beastman, Merman etc… (excuse the spelling on some of these), so many projects so little time! I’ve also been looking at the Skull the Slayer graphic novel (I know you find these sacrilege), but it would do me.

    Cheers Roger.

  4. Carrion Crow says:

    Hi Roger. Whilst rummaging through the games cupboard here at the Crow’s Nest, I think I may have found you some good He-Man and Skeletor proxies, namely the Barbarian and Chaos Sorceror from the HeroQuest boxed game. You’ll have to trim the horns off the sorceror, but as they’re plastic, it was quite easy. If you find a pic online and think they’re suitable, let me know and I’ll drop them in the post to you, as I don’t really have a use for them. Regards Jez

  5. Roger Webb says:

    Wow, thanks so much for the offer Jez, most appreciated, but I think I’m alright as I’ve now sent off for some conversion fodder for this little project. I think I know the figures your referring to as I think we used to own the game (Myles has had so many when he was younger it’s hard to remember them all) and though they would probably have worked well for He-man and Skeletor, I’m hoping to do a few more of the main protagonists from the show so my required conversion figures has grown too, but I think I’ve got it covered. Once again thanks so much for the offer, hope I can repay your kindness some time.

    Cheers Roger.

Leave a Reply

