28mm Sci-Fi “on the cheap” (part 1)

Following the fun and success I had doing the superhero figures a few weeks back I decided I’d take on a new challenge (just for myself that is), so I thought I’d have a go at some Sci-Fi fig’s. Now I’ve been a gamer for more years than I care to remember, and I can still recall buying the original plastic Space marine box set (thirty marines for £10.00) as well as the Imperial Guard, Dalek and Cybermen box, Skeleton army and Fantasy Regiments (and going thirds on a plastic Rhino Box set as three was a bit much for one person!!). Happy and simpler times that it’s easy to look back on through rose tinted glasses, but surely you can’ttroopers 1 gangers 1get decent 28mm figures for anywhere near those sorts of prices today? Well for  while I’ve had my eye on EM-4 miniatures plastic box sets of 28mm “Gangers” and “Troopers”, each contains parts to build five figures and costs £2.55.

Cash has now been exchanged and two boxes of each have just arrived (along with some gangers 2spaceships but I’ll get to them at a later date). But what are they liketroopers 2 I hear you say? Let’s start by saying that I don’t think “GW” will be worrying over quality, but that said there is definite potential here if you’re prepared to put in a little work, and that is what I intent to do. So starting with the gangers (as these will need more conversion work as they need to be individuals), I shall glue them together without the arms fitted (the arms are meant to be fitted between the front and back body pieces) as it should be easy enough to trim the “pole” that runs between the shoulders and clip and glue them in place later. This should give me more “working” space around the torso’s to slap my greenstuff.

All the front and back pieces are interchangeable (though the women won’t fit the men and vice versa). The worst thing appears to be the quality of the smaller hand guns, the larger rifles and shotgun are OK but the pistols are awful! I can see I’ll be raiding the bits box for something else to replace them. The rather strange headgear and flying “pigtail” on one of the female figures will also be casualties to the knife, as I’m pretty sure even I can do something better than that.

Anyway enough talk, time to get the knives out and start hacking away at the poor little lads and lassies, first job is to fill the gaps at the top of their legs where they meet their torso’s. We’ll see what progress (or disasters) I’ve made next week.

Cheers Roger.

This entry was posted in 28mm sci-fi, sci-fi and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 28mm Sci-Fi “on the cheap” (part 1)

  1. Blaxkleric says:

    I’ve seen these a few times and my eldest has a box somewhere but we’ve always been distracted by the ‘GW Dark Empire’ so I’ve never actually seen anyone put them together and paint them up, so I look forward to seeing how these turn out (disaster or otherwise 🙂 ).

  2. Dick Garrison says:

    I’d never seen them up close before either, and the picture on EM-4’s website is a little vague too, but I’m hoping they’ll turn out OK, since starting this I’ve had a bit of a nose about on the web and there are quite a few good pic’s and conversions of these (and other) fig’s here….
    http://combatzonechronicles.net/mini.htm
    I keep trying turn Myles away from the “Dark side” (GW) but he goes past the store on the way to University each day and will keep going in!!

Leave a Reply

